主页网址>潜水目的地>马尔代夫

马尔代夫岛屿潜水

在印度洋的环礁岛享受船宿假期

马尔代夫现在很明显地已经成为华人潜水者和游客的主要目的地。马尔代夫虽然以其极具震撼力的海滩和热带岛屿的蔚蓝海水闻名于世,而水下世界的一切更加让全世界的潜水者肃然起敬。马尔代夫群岛拥有美丽的珊瑚礁,但是真正让这里从其他潜水地区脱颖而出的是其丰富的水下生态及动物。

拿破仑濑鱼在马尔代夫 -照片由ScubaZoo
观赏更多我们潜水的影片 书签和分享

多数下潜都是在船宿中进行,这样可以让您体验真正的随波逐流。因为无限可能的通道及环礁间的各种路线,及水流推动和不同岛屿之间的连接,可以让你在移动中不断有新的发现。比如丰富多彩的鱼类会随着水流与你擦肩而过其中包括拿破仑隆头鱼,鹦嘴鱼,笛鲷,宽竹荚鱼和甜唇鱼。

你在马尔代夫潜水极有可能会体会到的两大特色是丰富的水流通道以及像磁铁一般吸引水下生物聚集的珊瑚山峰。 在潜水通道中,你可以体验各种海底洞穴及发现软珊瑚生长的地方,很多丰富多彩的海绵,无脊椎动物及柳珊瑚群都可以在这片丰富的海域中探索。这里也有很多隆头鱼和虾为各种大型海洋动物清洁身体的清洁站。

在环礁乐园里你经常会看到几乎高达水面的礁石峰。在当地叫做“提拉斯”,通常被很多浮游生物所环绕。当洋流碰到这一个组合就会把海底的水向上引导,从而为贴着它生长的软珊瑚及海绵提供营养,创造出可以孕育各种甲壳类生物及鱼类的理想地带。

慢慢地离开珊瑚群,你会发现蝠鲼,鹰鳐及包括大鲸鲨在内的各种鲨鱼。有趣的事情无时无刻都可能在浅水区发生。这里海水清澈,众多鱼类在被阳光照得通透的海水中漫游,绝对是摄影师和喜欢享受乐趣的潜水者的理想地带。

在1998年的厄尔尼诺现象中,有些浅水区的珊瑚礁被上升的水温严重影响并死亡。然而普遍观点认为在珊瑚恢复先前辉煌之际,大型马尔代夫水下生物在过去的几十年里不但没有减少反而有增加,至少一部分是国家努力保护的结果。


亮点

在马尔代夫与珊瑚鲨以其潜水的最好地点是拉威亚尼, 北麦和南麦, 卫舞, 米姆, 拉姆和嘎夫(应该是最好的)。其他地点都太深。可以看到鲸鲨的最好地点为阿里环礁,嘎夫以及南方的沓环礁。蝠鲼的最好地方是阿里,阿度,北麦,哈阿里夫和哈达鲁及巴环礁。锤头沙可以去北的拉斯胡环礁,或在卫舞环礁的佛太油坎杜找到。长尾鲨和虎鲨一年四季都可以在法姆拉岛找到。

Ari Atoll 阿里环礁在新窗口中打开网页 (英文链接) - 虽然马尔代夫有很多环礁有机会碰到上层鱼类及鱼群,但可能是最有保障的地方。各种大型鱼类比如鲸鲨,蝠鲼,锤头鲨和鹰翼鳐都是经常可以与你擦肩,同时还有比如拿破仑隆头鱼,灰礁鲨和白鳍鲨等大型鱼类,及大群的梭鱼和蝙蝠鱼。

Vaavu Atoll 卫舞在新窗口中打开网页 (英文链接)(南环礁),拥有富含营养的较深水道及快速水流。一年内的任何时间都可以遇到珊瑚鲨群以及包括锤头鲨在内的各种鲨鱼。这里有佛太油坎杜 - 以穿越游,洞穴及悬浮游而被公认为马尔代夫最好的潜水地点。以及你会看到数量众多的鲨鱼,金枪鱼,鲹,长吻鼻鱼,鲷,鲀,鹰鳐,蝠鲼和石斑鱼。

North Male Atoll 北麦环礁在新窗口中打开网页 (英文链接) - 这个地方是第一个被发现拥有最古老并热门的潜水点,包含加图吉利在内成为理想潜水地点的马尔代夫岛屿之一,这里也称为香蕉礁石。在这里你可以看到令人惊叹的岩石表面,众多洞穴,陡降地形,陡峭的悬垂。鲨鱼,蝠鲼,鲹,黑鲷,石斑鱼,大群旗鱼,海鳗,金鳞,锯鳞鱼和马尔代夫六带拟鲈组成的海洋生命也让这里变得超棒。

如何在马尔代夫潜水

大群的蝙蝠鱼 --照片由ScubaZoo

一般来说,北部地区有较健康的珊瑚和微生物生态,而南部地区则有更多的鲨鱼。由于岛屿散布在各处,最好的潜水地点就在环礁乐园的周围和其中的通道中。船宿食体验本地的最好方法。

部分度假村拥有美丽的潜水点,但是如果你想体验多种多样的海洋生物,船宿是你最好的选择。船宿在本地很流行,出发前记得做好计划。我们建议在马尔代夫旅游旺季前6个月预订,届时多数船都回满订,临时预订几乎成为不可能。

潜水季节

我们建议确定行程的船宿在十一月到五月间出发,但马尔代夫潜水季节是全年无休的。十一月到五月外的时间比较难预订到您需要的日期。

十二月底到五月会吹东北季风。所以这段期间的天空会呈碧蓝色,无风的时候来平面会很平静。东边环礁的能见度大概为20-30米,西边则为15-20米左右。这也是东面环礁拥有最佳能见度的时候,十二月到三月的时候各处的能见度都是非常不错的。因为水流自东向西地流过环礁通道。大群珊瑚鲨在环礁东边的通道入口处聚集;而辐鲼被西边流出的浮游生物吸引到公开海域。这是一年中洋流最强的季节。

六月到十一月是西南季风的时期,所以以上的过程全部相反:水流通过通道向东涌去,蝠鲼在东边珊瑚鲨和较好能见度都出现在西边。此时的天空有时会多云,风比较大,所以海也不平静,但这个季节还是阳光明媚。 海平面可上涨达1-2米,特别是六七月雨季的时候,每天有3-4个小时在下雨,还有五月底和十二月初季风转换的时候也一样。

全年的平均水温都会在26-29摄氏度之间,只有最远的南边水温会在东北季风期间下降到24摄氏度。

不得不说的是,就像全球的其他地方一样,最近几年马尔代夫的天气也使越来越难预测。

在马尔代夫,全年都可以找到蝠鲼,鲸鲨,海龟,礁鲨和锤头鲨;在西南季风下,更可以看到大群的蝠鲼。如果要找其他大型物种,就不是季节可以决定的了:鲸鲨多在涨潮的时候出现,锤头鲨可能会在日出时浅水的地方出没。

唯一例外的地方就是哈尼法鲁湾,通常在八月到十一月期间,数百尾蝠鲼和鲸鲨会在巴阿的东边集合,因为那里聚集了广袤的浮游生物。这个地区被划分为海洋生态保护区,同一时间只开放给60位有得到许可的人进行浮浅。

潜水概况

适合于: 大型动物,水下摄影,值回票价,漂流潜水,初学者和高级潜水员。
不适合: 非潜水活动
深度: 5 - >40米
能见度: 5 - 40米
水流: 会很激烈
水面状况: 通常都很平稳,但是在西南季风期间会有浪。
水温: 26 - 29°C
经验等级: 初学者-进阶者
潜水点数量: >200
潜水方式: 马尔代夫船宿假期
建议停留周期: 1 - 3 周


 水世界 

曼谷银行大厦7层702室,
香港,博纳姆西街18号
电话:+66 (0)83 505 7794
传真:+66 (0)76 281166
电子邮件地址:xinxi@dive-the-world.com
网址:http://www.dive-the-world.com

Dive The World logo Dive The World Liveaboards website banner Dive The World Liveaboards website banner
Website home>Dive Destinations>Maldives

Diving the Maldives Islands

Liveaboard Holidays at the Indian Ocean Atolls

Although the Maldives are known the world over for the stunning beaches and azure waters that typify the tropical idyll, its life beneath the water's surface is becoming ever more respected by scuba divers in the know. The Maldive Islands have some good coral reefs, but it's the abundance of marine life throughout the country that sets it apart from other dive destinations.

Napoleon wrasse in the Maldives - photo courtesy of ScubaZoo
View Video Gallery Bookmark and Share

Most dives in the Maldives are drifts from liveaboards where you allow the current to move you along. Due to the myriad channels and passages between the atolls, the currents sweep and play throughout the island chain so that nutrients are always on the move. This accounts for the vast numbers of fish enjoying the passing feast and you can expect to see Napoleon wrasse, parrotfish, snappers, jacks and sweetlips at every site where the water flows.

2 main features you are likely to encounter at the dive sites in the Maldives are the current swept channels and the pinnacles that act like magnets for marine life. In the channels, you can explore the caves, caverns and overhangs where soft corals proliferate, and there is a riot of colourful sponges, invertebrates and gorgonian fans all profiting from the nutrient-rich water. There are also plenty of cleaning stations where cleaning wrasses and shrimps service the larger marine species.

Inside the atoll lagoons you often find pinnacles of rock vaulting up almost to the surface. They are known locally as 'Thilas' and are often bejewelled with sessile life forms. These formations bring water up from the ocean floor against their walls, feeding the sponges and soft corals that cling to its sides as well as creating an environment that supports a plethora of crustaceans and schools of resident fish.

Slightly removed from the reefs, you are likely to spot the pelagics that frequent the Maldives, including manta rays and eagle rays and a variety of sharks including the mighty whale shark. Wherever you look there is likely to be something of interest going on and for many it is in the shallows where the best of the action takes place. Here the clear water, brightly illuminated by the sun's rays and playing host to great numbers of fish, provides an ideal environment both for photographers and fun divers alike.

During the El Niño of 1998 some shallower areas of the coral reefs were adversely affected by bleaching. However the accepted view is that while the reefs are returning to their former colourful glory, the larger marine life of the Maldives Islands has never dwindled and indeed many believe it has increased in numbers over the past few decades, at least partly as a result of the nation's recognition of the need for conservation.

Highlights

The best channels for diving in the Maldives with reef sharks are at - Lhaviyani, North and South Male, Vaavu, Meemu, Laamu and Gaafu (probably the best). Elsewhere the channels are too deep to dive.

The best areas for whale shark encounters are Ari Atoll, and Gaafu and Thaa atolls in the south. For mantas, the best locations are Ari, Addu, North Male, Haa Alifu and Haa Daalu, and Baa Atoll. For Hammerheads, plan a visit to Rasdhoo Atoll in North Ari, or Fotteyo Kandu at Veevu Atoll. Thresher sharks and tiger sharks can be found at Foahmulah Island all year round.

Ari Atoll - Although there are many Maldivian atolls where you can encounter pelagics and big schools of fish, Ari Atoll may be the place with the greatest reliability. Passing big fish such as whale sharks, mantas, hammerheads and eagle rays are frequently seen, as well as large residents like the Napoleon wrasse, grey reef and white tip sharks, and large schools of blacktail barracuda and batfish.

Vaavu Atoll in the Southern Atolls, features deep channels with nutrient-rich, fast-flowing currents. At any time of year you will be treated to encounters with schooling reef sharks as well several different shark species including the occasional hammerhead. The area boasts Fotteyo Kandu - considered by many to be the best dive site in the Maldives with its swim-throughs, caves and overhangs. As well as plenty of sharks you can expect to see tuna, trevallies, unicornfish, snappers, triggerfish, eagle rays, mantas and groupers.

North Male Atoll - This area was one of the first to be discovered for its scuba diving delights and comprises some of the oldest and most popular sites in the Maldive Islands including Gaathugiri, also known as Banana Reef. You can expect breathtaking topography with magnificent rock faces, numerous caves, steep drop offs and precipitous overhangs. The marine life is just as awesome with sharks, manta rays, trevally, black snappers, grouper, schooling bannerfish, large morays, squirrelfish, soldierfish and Maldivian grubfish.

Return to the top of the page

How to Dive Maldives

School of batfish - photo courtesy of ScubaZoo

As a general rule of thumb, the northern areas tend to have healthier reefs and better macro life, whilst the southern areas have more sharks. Since the islands are scattered over a large area, and the best diving is found inside and outside the atolls' lagoons and in the channels in between, the best way to see the region is by liveaboard.

Some resorts have good dive sites nearby but if you wish for the greatest marine diversity and a variety of sites then liveaboard diving is king. These cruises are very popular and you need to plan ahead to make sure you get the trip you want. We recommend that you book at least 6 months in advance during the Maldives high season as many trips become fully booked prior to the departure date and last minute availability is almost unheard of.

Diving Season

The recommended months for confirmed liveaboard departures are from November to May but the Maldives scuba diving holiday season runs all year round. If you wish to come outside of November to May it may be more difficult to find a departure date that suits you.

The northeast monsoon (winds from the northeast) runs from the end of December to May. At this time of year the skies are blue and the lack of wind means the seas are calm. The visibility on the eastern side of the atolls is good at 20-30+m, and 15-20m on the western sides. The eastern atolls generally have the best visibility during this time too, and December to March normally enjoys the best overall visibility. This is because the currents flow through the atoll channels from east to west. Reef sharks gather in large numbers at the channel entrances on the eastern side of the atolls; whereas mantas are drawn to the western sides because plankton flows out of the channels into open sea on west at this time. The current is strongest at this time of year too.

June to November is the southwest monsoon and the above process is reversed: currents from through the channels in an easterly direction; mantas to the east, reef sharks and better visibility to the west. It is at this time when the skies are cloudier, the winds are stronger and seas a little rougher, although the season does still get nice, sunny spells. Surface swells can reach 1-2m, particularly during the rainy season in June/July, when rain falls on average 3-4 hours per day, and during the monsoon transitions in late May and early December.

Water temperature are fairly constant throughout the year at 26-29°C, except in the far south where the water temperature can drop to 24°C during the northeast monsoon.

Having said all that, like most places in the world, the seasons in the Maldives have become less predictable in recent years.

Mantas, whale sharks, turtles, reef sharks and hammerhead sharks are found in the Maldives all year round; if anything, manta rays are found in even greater numbers in the southwest monsoon. As for the other big creatures, diver encounters are dependent on non-seasonal factors: whale sharks are more frequently sighted at high tide, and hammerhead sharks ascend to shallower water at sunrise.

The exception to this is at Hanifaru Bay, usually between August and November, when hundreds of manta rays and some whale sharks gather on the eastern side of Baa, where vast plankton fields accumulate. The area has been declared a marine reserve and current regulations permit snorkeling only for a maximum of 60 persons at a time.

Reef Summary

Good for: Large animals, underwater photography, value-for-money, drift dives, beginner and advanced divers
Not so good for: Non-diving activities
Depth: 5 - >40m
Visibility: 15 - 40m
Currents: Can be very strong
Surface conditions: Generally calm but can be choppy in southwest monsoon
Water temperature: 26 - 29°C
Experience level: Beginner - advanced
Number of dive sites: >200
Access: Maldives liveaboard holidays
Recommended length of stay: 1 - 3 weeks

All about the Atolls

More detailed information on the Maldives dive sites:

  • Ari Atoll • North Male
  • South Male • Northern Atolls
  • Far North Atolls • Southern Atolls

Useful References


Return to the top of the page



 
Liveaboard Search
Departure date: between
and
 
 

Special Offers

Diving Packages

Last minute & early bird deals for the Maldives:

 
 

Maldives

Liveaboard diving cruises from US$ 177 per day ...

 
 
Dive The World RSS blog news feed (opens in a new window) Watch Dive The World's diving videos on YouTube (opens in a new window) Join Dive The World on Facebook (opens in a new window) Follow Dive The World on Twitter (opens in a new window) Join us on Google+ (opens in a new window)
Testimonial
... [The sales person] did the whole booking correspondence with me. I was impressed by how quickly he always responded to my emails. That is definitely a strength if you get a quick reply ...
Simone, Germany
[ More customer reviews ]
 © Dive-The-World.com Share Like this site?: 
Privacy Policy | Terms   
 DIVE THE WORLD   
Unit 702, 7/F Bangkok Bank Building,
No. 18 Bonham Strand West, Hong Kong
Tel.: +66 (0)83 505 7794
Fax: +66 (0)76 281166
E-mail: info@dive-the-world.com
Website: http://www.dive-the-world.com